Taraba Varsity, Four Others Gets Council Of Legal Education Approval For Accreditation Of Law Programs

Council of Legal Education, chaired by Chief Emeka Ngige, (SAN), has granted accreditation to the Faculty of Law at Taraba State University, Jalingo, along with four other esteemed institutions. The approved universities include Adamawa State University, Mubi; Mewar International University, Masaka, Nasarawa State; Federal University, Wukari, Taraba State; and Nigerian Police Academy, Wudil, Kano State.

According to Ms. Aderonke Osho, the Acting Secretary to the Council, the decision was based on comprehensive reports submitted by the Board of Studies, led by the Director-General, Prof. Isa Hayatu Chiroma (SAN).

The Council, responsible for regulating the Nigerian Law School, also endorsed sanctions for referred admission cases and students engaged in examination malpractice and other forms of misconduct.

Furthermore, the Council supported the recommendations of the Appointments, Promotions, and Disciplinary Committee (AP&DC), headed by the President of the Nigerian Bar Association (NBA), Mr. Yakubu Maikyau (SAN). This includes promotions and disciplinary actions for senior academic and non-academic staff at the Nigerian Law School.

In addition, the council approved the report of the Management Publication Assessment Committee, leading to the promotion of certain intermediate academic and library staff. Dr. Olugbemisola Titilayomi Odusote, Mr. Polycarp Chibueze Okorie, Mr. Mohammed Ibrahim, and Mr. Salmanu Mohammed Rilwanu were appointed as Deputy Directors-General and heads of campuses of the Nigerian Law School for a five-year tenure.