Taraba Police Command Rewards Four Officers For Rejecting N8 Million Bribe From Kidnappers

The Taraba State Police Command has recognized and rewarded four officers for refusing over N8 million bribe from suspected kidnappers.

The Commissioner of Police, CP, David Iloy Anomon, presented the awards to the officers during a ceremony held in his office on Friday.

He emphasized the importance of acknowledging exemplary conduct demonstrated by officers while discharging their duties.

“It has become necessary to recognize and applaud the outstanding ethical rectitude exhibited by some officers and men of 40 PMF while conducting stop and search at the Kwanti-Napu checkpoint along Jalingo-Yola road,” Commissioner Anomon stated.

The officers, stationed at the checkpoint on the 29th of last month, intercepted a Toyota Starlet carrying three passengers.

Acting on their instincts, they conducted a thorough search, uncovering N8.555 million in the vehicle.

Despite the substantial bribe offered by the suspects, the officers, according to the CP, remained steadfast in their commitment to upholding the law and rejected the illicit offer.

He described their conduct as “in line with the zero tolerance to corruption mantra of the Inspector General of Police, Kayode Egbetokun,” and emphasized the importance of their action as an example for others to follow within the Force.

The honored officers are Inspector Difference Tih, Inspector Ngamarju Gambi, Inspector Usman Haruna, and CPL Zarudeen Mamuda.

Speaking with journalists, the officers stressed their dedication to combating corrupt practices and contributing to the growth of the Nigerian Police Force and the nation as a whole.