Adamawa Govt Inaugurates Eight-Man Committee To Probe Dangote Sugar Plantation Dispute With Neighboring Community

The Secretary to Adamawa State Government, Barrister A. Awwal D. Tukur, on Friday, officially inaugurated a committee to investigate the ongoing land dispute between Dangote Sugar and the communities of Numan and Shelleng Local Government Areas.

According to Ijabani Ijahu, Special Assistant on Media to the Governor of Adamawa State, the committee, carefully assembled to address the complexities of the issue, includes key stakeholders from various sectors.

Heading the committee is Mal. Usman Suleiman Pallam as Chairman, other notable members include Murtala Alfa Belel from the Ministry of Justice, Dr. Ibrahim Bayaso from the Ministry of Agriculture, and Jonah Kefas representing Land and Survey.

The committee also features Hon. Christopher Sofore, the former Chairman of Numan Local Government, and Hon. Abubakar Musa Abba, the former Chairman of Shelleng Local Government Area, demonstrating a commitment to local perspectives.

Mal. Yahaya Adamu from the State Boundary Commission adds expertise in navigating territorial intricacies, while Abubakar Ibrahim Jimeta from the Political Department, SSG’s Office, takes on the crucial role of Secretary, ensuring seamless coordination.

This comprehensive committee aims to delve into the heart of the land dispute, fostering dialogue and understanding between Dangote Sugar and the affected communities. The investigation’s outcome is anticipated to provide a fair and just resolution to the long-standing issue, promoting harmony and sustainable development in Adamawa State.