APC’s Pogu Wins Chibok By-election In Borno

The candidate of All Progressives Congress, APC, Lawan Pogu, has been declared winner of the Saturday House of Assembly by-election for Chibok Constituency in Borno.

Announcing the result on Sunday, the Returning Officer, Prof. Baba Kyari-Waziri, said Pogu scored 9,101 votes to defeat his closest opponent of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, Habila Bello, who got 2,117 votes.

Other candidates are Abdullahi Gambo of African Democratic Congress, ADC, 69 votes; Hamid Zamzam of Action Democratic Party, ADP, 63 votes; and Maina Sheriff of Social Democratic Party, SDP, 12 votes.

Abdullahi Lawan of Allied People’s Movement, APM, scored 48 votes; while Haruna Shettima of Action People’s Party, APP, got 17 votes.

The Chibok by-election took place following the death of the initial winner of the 2023 election, Nuhu Clerk.